Search

Adolfo Ortiz Jr. 1989-2021

Adolfo Ortiz Jr., age 32, passed away on June 22, 2021. He was born on February 2, 1989, in Torrance, CA and raised by his parents Jessica and Ralph David Ponder. He was always a protective older brother to Daniel and Melissa Ponder. On August 20, 2011, he married Lidia Oneima Loera-Ortiz. Together they lived in Houston for eight years and in Connecticut for two years. Additionally, he is survived by his loving grandmother Macata and several uncles, aunts, and cousins.


Adolfo was baptized as one of Jehovah’s Witnesses on August 31, 2002. Adolfo loved Jehovah and often stayed busy working with the congregation and helping his spiritual brothers and sisters. He was in the full-time preaching work for ten years. He helped at least six people to dedicate themselves to Jehovah. Those who knew him intimately knew he especially appreciated Paul’s words at Romans 7:20-25. We will all remember his “work and the love [he] showed.” (Hebrews 6:10)


He worked as a project manager drafting projects in both Houston and Connecticut. In his free time, he learned and challenged himself by cooking exotic cuisine, tinkering with mechanics and design, dabbling in poetry, memorizing historical and Biblical events, playing sports, geology, appreciating film techniques, traveling, and hiking. On the Long Trail thru hike, he was given the name “Tasty Backpack” when a bear chewed thru his hiking backpack. He enjoyed comic books, sci-fi, and everything superhero related. He often called himself a “Jack of all trades, master of none.”


The memorial service will take place at 5:00 pm EST (2:00 pm Pacific Standard Time; 4:00 pm Central Standard Time) on July 10th, 2021, over Zoom. All who would like to attend are welcome to contact Gonzalo Ortiz at 860-377-0135 for the login information.



584 views3 comments